Weekly Workout: The Bar Method!

I have started working part-time at a fitness studio called “The Bar Method”. Thus, my experience has prompted this post. For those of you who haven’t tried this type of exercise, I would highly recommend it! The Bar Method focuses on tiny, isometric movements and it’s awesome for toning your legs and getting you to your ‘challenge’ point early on in the workout.  Often my legs will shake only 10 minutes into class. However, while the 60-min class does keep your heart rate up by using lots of leg and core muscles, I would recommend pairing this exercise class with cardio (I am working on adding running back into my routine). For those of you interested in trying the class, check out http://barmethod.com. Some tips on your first class:

  1. Wear pants below the knee
  2. Bring socks that don’t slide! 🙂
  3. Bring water; you’ll want it
  4. Start slowly. The class builds in intensity. Likewise, the more classes you take the more you can use the exercises to increase your own intensity.

Happy exercising!

Leave a comment